Get ready to channel your inner Julie Andrews

I simply remember my favorite things, And then I don’t feel so bad…

As a huge lover of coffee I have scoured the West Lafayette and Lafayette area to find my favorite cups of joe. When I go out for coffee I always get some sort of specialty espresso drink. I don’t see the point in paying for a cup of coffee when I have a Keurig at home and am just going to load it up with creamer. So, I have compiled a list of my favorite specialty drinks.

  1. Creme Brûlée Latte from Greyhouse

   Custard sweetened espresso swirled with steamed milk & fortified caramel

img_4029               img_4003-jpg

Greyhouse’s Creme Brûlée Latte is by far the best latte I have ever had. This rich delicacy is famous at Purdue and is by far the favorite Greyhouse drink of all my friends. It is a little pricey at $4.75 for a regular 12 oz latte and $5.30 for a large 16 oz latte.

 

2. Iced mocha and caramel Latte from Dunkin Donuts

2bd824f1-0f2f-4c14-abdf-8b2b6805568c           e8cd04dc-89e3-4b21-83ac-cb620333a74a

Paying homage to my New England roots where every day whether rain, snow or shine is the perfect day for an iced Dunkin drink. My personal favorite is a medium iced latte with one pump of mocha and one pump of caramel. Make sure you only get one pump and not the full swirl which equals multiple pumps. This 24 oz latte will cost you $3.79 but will vary from location to location.

 

3. Vanilla Latte from Java Jo’z

a4c4caec-e3cd-4fde-9c5c-ed3a8a6df4ee               d72fbcaa-943e-41c6-b512-a725602bcd74

This drive through caffeine fix is just the pick up you need. Its charming building might be small but it’s packing some bold flavor. The staff working was delightful and gave us first time customers a free drink for next time. They also hand out Biscoff cookies with each specialty latte drink. This small 12 oz drink will cost you $3.50.

 

4. Campfire Mocha with Dark Chocolate from Caribou

img_4010-jpg               img_4006-jpg

Being from the New England area I was not introduced to this Midwest treat until it arrived on Purdue’s Campus in 2014. My personal favorite drink is the campfire mocha that tastes like a s’more. My favorite park about Caribou is they allow you to completely customize your drinks. You can choose what toppings you’d like from chocolate chips to marshmellows and everything in-between. You can also choose what type of chocolate you’d like in your drinks. My personal favorite is dark chocolate but there is also milk and white chocolate for you sweet tooths out there. This small 12 oz drink will cost you $3.89.

 

5. Maple Brown Sugar Latte from Star City Coffee

5f910ba4-fbf4-47a3-b528-71e9c69df564               a456ef3e-221c-42d8-a28f-ab48a8be9aa0

Star City Coffee is a new discovery for me and my first drink from there was this winter special. This coffee and ale house has a cozy ambiance that has great potential to be the perfect date spot or a nice place to study. They have all the traditional espresso drinks and have seasonal specialties. This 12 oz drink will cost you $4.98.

 

6. Bananas Foster Latte from Fuel

d8220a6f-325c-4f41-9aa8-278c5fb2c9cf               45a05e01-fc1a-44d7-a2c8-d28810f01494

This new age hipster destination has a lot of light and a very welcoming staff. I tried their bananas foster latte which tasted almost identical to the banana laffy taffy. They also have the traditional espresso and coffee drinks. This cute coffee house is located in downtown Lafayette on main street. This 12 oz drink will set you back $4.82.

Now go out, get caffeinated and explore all the coffee shops your town has to offer.

Leave a Reply

